the enneagram

What is the Enneagram?

The enneagram is a great tool.

Modern humans have been around for 200 000 years. And we find that we have cultures. Humors. Gifts. Talents. Strengths. Weaknesses. Personalities.

The personality is like how animals move through water. Some people are more introverted. Others more extroverted. Some are in the middle (the exact “in the middle” is called a sonambulist).

You can swim with fins or flippers or propulsion to get through water. Similarly, the “personality” shapes how we move through life. There are 9 enneatype personalities.

Your enneatype forms by the time you are 4 and it does not change for the rest of your life.

There are 9 enneatypes (and 6 has a subtype).

They are based on the 9 sins or misperceptions.

  1. Anger
  2. Pride
  3. Vanity
  4. Envy
  5. Greed
  6. Fear
  7. Avarice
  8. Lust
  9. Laziness

These personalities lead to core characteristics. They are driven by core aspirations and core fears.

There’s actually a charity that teaches it in prisons in the United States. Because if you can hold up the mirror to how fearful someone is about something (especially if it is unconscious) you can help them see what is hurting them on the inside – as a thought form – that hides behind repeating self-destructive behaviors.

We don’t study the enneagram in schools – it’s considered esoteric. And yet, looking at how we self-sabotage is actually quite enlightened. So addressing the enneatype is a focus of ours at sutranovum.

It is an ancient tool for more aware living. It is not a path to enlightenment. But it is a useful tool for living in greater harmony with yourself and with the world.

Here is the test